What Are The 5 Love Languages For Couples?

Love languages for couples

The five love languages include words of affirmation, spending time together, getting presents, performing deeds of service, and physical touch. Everyone expresses love differently, and everyone prefers to receive love in a variety of ways. Gary Chapman, Ph.D., created the idea of love languages in his book The 5 Love Languages: The Secret to Love That Lasts. In this book, he outlines these five distinct ways of expressing love, categories he condensed from his expertise in marriage therapy and linguistics.

It is not advised to interpret the phraseology used, “Love language,” literally. Rest assured that we are not discussing actual languages, so you won’t need to start taking classes. Instead, these “languages” describe how each of us experiences love and what makes us feel valued individually. At the same time, this is also how we believe expressing gratitude ought to be done.

We all have different personalities, therefore it stands to reason that we will experience love in various situations. It is crucial to communicate what you think is appropriate with your partner so that they understand what you value as special times.

The Five Love Languages Are As Follows For Couples

1. Words of Affirmation

Words of affirmation are the art of verbally expressing love, praise, or appreciation. When someone uses this as their primary love language, they appreciate encouraging remarks, inspirational quotes, love letters, and adorable text messages. By giving them praise or pointing out their accomplishments, you can brighten their day.

2. Acts of Service

We’re confident you’ve heard it said at least once, actions speak louder than words. This is the exact motto of those who use this kind of love language. You’re looking at things like washing the dishes, folding the laundry, picking up the kids from school, volunteering to go grocery shopping, etc.

However, keep in mind that these offerings must be genuine; if they appear to be made out of obligation or are followed up with complaints, they won’t be well received.

3. Quality Time

This kind of person seeks out undivided attention. If you are focused on them when you are together and you are there, they feel appreciated. To do this, put down the phone, log off of the computer, make eye contact, and pay attention.

4. Receiving Gifts

Everything about this is as simple as it seems. This could seem materialistic depending on your point of view, but it isn’t always so. The ones that like receiving gifts are the ones who value it when you actually make an effort and get them something they really like. A T-shirt with the logo of their favorite TV show or their favorite chocolate will almost always be favored over a Lamborghini.

Understanding your partner’s interests is the “trick” in this situation.

5. Physical Touch

Physical affection is how someone who uses physical contact as their primary love language experiences love. In addition to having sex, they experience feelings of love when their partner gives them a massage at the end of the day, holds their hand or touches their arm. This person might consider watching a romantic movie and cuddling up on the couch to be the ideal date. They merely desire physical proximity to their lover.


You both stand to gain once you and your partner are aware of one another’s love languages. However, if it differs from your own, speaking your partner’s love language may need some intentionality and effort. Always keep in mind that successful relationships take time and work to build.

The good news is that you can improve your relationship by becoming aware of and using your partner’s love language. You will find yourself not only deeper in love but also in a happy, meaningful relationship if you both are dedicated to loving one another in the ways that speak to both of you.


Prepare to Get Fleek and Chill!
Embrace the 50 Shades of Romance
Sign up to our Love Express, and get 100 Free Cookie Points to bake a Brownie!

I am a
Looking for